• Meiosis has two parts: meiosis I and meiosis II. Meiosis is the process by which gametes (sex cells) are generated.

Unit 7 Lesson 2 Meiosis Spindle fibres appear. Metaphase I. Explanation of each step with the stages will be described below with diagrams to help in understanding. Chromosomes begin to condense.

The cells produced by meiosis are usually diploid again. Stages of Meiosis. In metazoa, there are two situations in which a cell gives rise to daughter cells. Meiosis is important for generating genetic diversity. Prometaphase II. • Recall that homologous chromosomes have the same genes but are not exact copies of each other. Meiosis cell division takes place in the following stages: Meiosis I Prophase I. Learn about the generation of sex cells, or gametes, by the process known as meiosis. The chromosomes in the cell are cut in half and then combine with a haploid from the other parent. The nuclear envelope disintegrates. In kind means that the offspring of any organism closely resemble their parent or parents.

The ability to reproduce in kind is a basic characteristic of all living things. Meiosis is the process of cell division used for sexual reproduction in eukaryotes. The second is meiosis. Stages of Meiosis. meiosis is where sex cells are made -there are 8 steps in meiosis mitosis is where the nucleus divides -there are 4 steps in mitosis they both make chromosomes The first, and by far most common, is mitosis. See how the four phases - prophase, metaphase, anaphase and telophase - differ between meiosis I and II. The process of meiosis involves two steps: Meiosis I and Meiosis II; each of these two steps of meiosis has stages just as in mitosis: prophase, metaphase, anaphase and telophase. 15.8: Meiosis Last updated; Save as PDF Page ID 19380; No headers. Spindle fibres attach to the chromosomes at the centromere. During meiosis, one diploid cell produces four daughter cells that are genetically distinct from one another. Meiosis can be divided into two stages, meiosis II and meiosis II, which both possess prophase, metaphase, anaphase and telophase.