This meticulously assembled film dissects the Third Reich with an analytical blade, charting Hitler's improbable rise, his mastery of crowd psychology and his consummate skill in exploiting others' weaknesses. Directed by Joachim Fest, Christian Herrendoerfer. With Richard Basehart, Ernst Hanfstaengl, Erich Kempka, Hjalmar Schacht. The Resource The rise and fall of the Third Reich : a history of Nazi Germany, by William L. Shirer The rise and fall of the Third Reich : a history of Nazi Germany, by William L. Shirer "The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich" exposes the darkest chapter in history, from Adolf Hitler's rise to power as a Nazi demagogue to his ultimate fatal mistakes. 95-128. Get this from a library!

“The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich: A History of Nazi Germany”, p.240, Simon and Schuster 10 Copy quote Adolf Hitler is probably the last of the great adventurer-conquerors in the tradition of Alexander, Caesar and Napoleon, and the Third Reich the last of the empires which set out on the path taken earlier by France, Rome and Macedonia. The rise and fall of the Third Reich. Broadly speaking, Shirer’s book is merely another exhaustively researched history of Nazi Germany. Alan Bullock's "Hitler: A Study in Tyranny" predates Shirer by nine years and T. L. Jarman's "The Rise and Fall of Nazi Germany" by five. This passage is the first of many throughout The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich where homosexuality is represented as an "abnormality," a "perversion," or, as in many cases, a sign of something rotten at the core. Published Citation Rosenfeld, G. (1994) "The Reception of William L. Shirer's The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich in the United States and West Germany, 1960-1962," Journal of Contemporary History, January, 1994, 29(1) pp. In this excerpt, Shirer is describing young Adolf Hitler in his late teens and early twenties. Third Reich: The Rise and Fall uncovers familiar anecdotes and fascinating details about the people who comprised the Nazi Party, and raids the treasure trove of archives the Nazis left behind, including rarely seen German newsreel recordings along with other unique footage carried home by … Also, I would argue with the claim that Shirer's "The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich" was the first comprehensive history of Nazi Germany. [William L Shirer; Larry McKeever] -- The author was on-hand to witness the beginning and end of … With Gert Westphal, Stephen Murray, Artur Axmann, General Bergeret. Directed by Jack Kaufman. William L. Shirer’s magnum opus The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich falls unequivocally into the latter category.